German Association for Computing in the Judiciary

The next annu­al con­gress of the Asso­ci­a­tion will take place from 23 to 25 Sep­tem­ber 2015 in Saar­brück­en (24th Annu­al Con­gress)

The Ger­man Asso­ci­a­tion for Com­put­ing in the Judi­cia­ry was found­ed in 1992. Pro­fes­sor Dr. Max­i­m­il­ian Her­berg­er was elect­ed as its pres­i­dent and has remained in office until Sep­tem­ber 2014. Since that time Prof. Dr. Stephan Ory is the pres­i­dent of the asso­ci­a­tion. At the moment, the soci­ety has about 400 mem­bers.

Short­ly after its foun­da­tion, a reg­u­lar co-oper­a­tion between the Asso­ci­a­tion and the Bund-Län­der Com­mis­sion began. Since then, the Ger­man Asso­ci­a­tion for Com­put­ing in the Judi­cia­ry has been recog­nised as a ‘Gericht­stag’ (Judi­cial Con­gress).

The Asso­ci­a­tion con­sid­ers it its pur­pose to mon­i­tor impor­tant devel­op­ments respon­si­bly and to take part in the devel­op­ment of stan­dards. A stan­dard for the struc­tur­ing of judg­ment tran­scripts in data­bas­es was adopt­ed at a very ear­ly stage and fur­ther stan­dards fol­lowed. The Asso­ci­a­tion took up its first stan­dard when it passed a draft sug­ges­tion for the XML–structuring of judg­ment tran­scripts. The Asso­ci­a­tion was one of the first to recog­nise that the Inter­net was going to play an impor­tant role for the legal pro­fes­sion, sim­i­lar to its eval­u­a­tion of the impor­tance of the PC in the work­place.

In addi­tion, the Asso­ci­a­tion aims to con­tribute to the real­i­sa­tion of the full poten­tial of legal com­put­ing tech­nol­o­gy. The exchange of expe­ri­ences with­in and out­side the dif­fer­ent work groups plays an impor­tant role there­in.

It is the pur­pose of the Asso­ci­a­tion to serve as a forum for an exchange of expe­ri­ences about the use of elec­tron­ic data pro­cess­ing in the admin­is­tra­tion of jus­tice, includ­ing advo­ca­cy, and in doing so

  • ren­der­ing pos­si­ble a prac­ti­cal exchange of expe­ri­ences about the use of elec­tron­ic data pro­cess­ing tech­nol­o­gy in the appli­ca­tion of the law, includ­ing the lay-out of work and organ­i­sa­tion­al envi­ron­ments
  • sup­port­ing co-oper­a­tion between lawyers and com­put­er sci­en­tists on a supra-region­al and Euro­pean scale and bring­ing togeth­er their knowl­edge in the crossover between legal tasks and com­put­er sci­ence>
  • encour­ag­ing and sup­port­ing dis­cus­sion about exist­ing com­put­ing solu­tions, devel­op­ments and future prospects
  • facil­i­tat­ing the exchange of opin­ions about the legal aspects of the appli­ca­tion and use of elec­tron­ic data pro­cess­ing tech­nol­o­gy, par­tic­u­lar­ly with regard to the admin­is­tra­tion of jus­tice
  • sup­port­ing con­tacts between sim­i­lar organ­i­sa­tions (amongst oth­ers the Ger­man Infor­mat­ics Soci­ety [GI])

The Asso­ci­a­tion ful­fils these pur­pos­es first and fore­most by the organ­i­sa­tion of the Annu­al Con­gress, which takes place in Saar­brück­en.

The ‘mag­ic’ thresh­old of 500 par­tic­i­pants of the annu­al con­fer­ence has been crossed for a con­sid­er­able time now. And year by year, the num­ber of par­tic­i­pants is ris­ing. The accom­pa­ny­ing demon­stra­tions by firms are also becom­ing more diverse and inter­est­ing. They ren­der it pos­si­ble to present an overview of the essen­tial prod­ucts to the com­put­er-inter­est­ed legal pro­fes­sion­al in a time­sav­ing sur­round­ing in a sin­gle loca­tion.

The ‘get — togeth­er’ at ‘juris GmbH’ on the first evening and the com­mu­nal din­ner on the sec­ond evening have now become a cher­ished tra­di­tion.

The talks by the Fed­er­al Min­is­ter of Jus­tice, Her­ta Däubler-Gmelin, on the top­ic ‘Inter­net and elec­tron­ic exchange of legal doc­u­ments’ at the Annu­al Con­gress 2000 and by the Fed­er­al Min­is­ter of Jus­tice, Brigitte Zypries, on the top­ic “The elec­tron­ic exchange of legal doc­u­ments is becom­ing more and more impor­tant” were cer­tain­ly high­lights of the con­gress­es so far. It showed that the Asso­ci­a­tion has been accept­ed in the cir­cle of Gericht­stage after a rea­son­ably short time — some­thing it had been striv­ing for from the very begin­ning as indi­cat­ed by its name (Deutsch­er EDV-Gericht­stag).

Saar­brück­en, Sep­tem­ber 2014

The Asso­ci­a­tion can be con­tact­ed at this address:

Deutsch­er EDV – Gericht­stag e.V.
Prof. Dr. Stephan Ory
Uni­ver­sität des Saar­lan­des, Post­fach 15 11 50
D – 66041 Saar­brück­en
Tele­phone: +49 (0)681 302‑5511 (10.00 — 16.00 Uhr)
Fax: +49 (0)681 302‑2591
E‑mail: edvgt@jura.uni-sb.de

Please Note: Only this intro­duc­to­ry web­page of the ‘Ger­man Asso­ci­a­tion for Com­put­ing in the Judi­cia­ry’ is avail­able in Eng­lish. All oth­er web­pages and links are avail­able only in Ger­man.

[trans­lat­ed by Jen­nifer Heuer]

Also avail­able on our WWW serv­er: Asso­ci­a­tion of Ger­man Admin­is­tra­tive Judges (BDVR)

Über uns

Der Deut­sche EDV-Gerichtstag e. V. wurde 1992 gegrün­det. Prof. Dr. Maxi­mi­lian Her­ber­ger wurde zum ers­ten Vor­sit­zen­den gewählt. Er übte die­ses Amt bis Sep­tem­ber 2014 aus und ist seit­her Ehren­vor­sit­zen­der. Prof. Dr. Ste­phan Ory ist Vor­sit­zen­der des Ver­eins. Zur­zeit zählt der Ver­ein rund 400 Mit­glie­der.

Kurz nach der Grün­dung begann eine regel­mä­ßige Zusam­men­ar­beit zwi­schen dem EDV-Gerichtstag und der Bund-Länder-Kommission. Seit­dem wird der EDV-Gerichtstag auch als „Gerichts­tag“ wahr­ge­nom­men.

Der EDV-Gerichtstag sieht es als seine Auf­gabe an, wich­tige Ent­wick­lun­gen ver­ant­wort­lich zu beglei­ten und an der Ent­wick­lung von Stan­dards mit­zu­wir­ken. Sehr früh wurde ein Stan­dard für die Struk­tu­rie­rung von Urteils­tex­ten in Daten­ban­ken ver­ab­schie­det, wei­tere Stan­dards folg­ten. Mit der Ver­ab­schie­dung eines Vor­schlags für die XML-Strukturierung von Urteils­tex­ten knüpfte der EDV-Gerichtstag dann an sei­nen ers­ten Stan­dard an. Ähn­lich wie bei der Ein­schät­zung des PC-Arbeitsplatzes war der EDV-Gerichtstag auch bei der Erkennt­nis Vor­rei­ter, dass dem Inter­net Bedeu­tung für die pro­fes­sio­nelle juris­ti­sche Tätig­keit zukommt.

Der EDV-Gerichtstag will wei­ter dazu bei­tra­gen, die EDV-Instrumente für die juris­ti­sche Arbeit auf das jeweils beste Niveau zu brin­gen. Dabei kommt dem Erfah­rungs­aus­tausch inner­halb und außer­halb der Arbeits­krei­ses eine beson­dere Bedeu­tung zu.

Zweck des Deut­schen EDV-Gerichtstag e. V. ist es, als Forum des Erfah­rungs­aus­tau­sches über den Ein­satz der elek­tro­ni­schen Daten­ver­ar­bei­tung für die Rechts­pflege auch im anwalt­li­chen Bereich zu die­nen und dabei ins­be­son­dere

  • den prak­ti­schen Erfah­rungs­aus­tausch über den EDV-Einsatz bei der Rechts­an­wen­dung ein­schließ­lich der Gestal­tung des Arbeits­plat­zes und des orga­ni­sa­to­ri­schen Umfel­des zu ermög­li­chen,
  • die Zusam­men­ar­beit von Juris­ten und Infor­ma­ti­kern über­re­gio­nal und im euro­päi­schen Rah­men zu för­dern und ihre Sach­kom­pe­tenz im Berüh­rungs­feld von juris­ti­schen Auf­ga­ben und Infor­ma­tik zusam­men­zu­füh­ren,
  • die Dis­kus­sion von vor­han­de­nen EDV-Lösungen, Ent­wick­lun­gen und Per­spek­ti­ven anzu­re­gen und zu unter­stüt­zen,
  • den Mei­nungs­aus­tausch über die recht­li­chen Aspekte der Anwen­dung und Nut­zung von EDV, ins­be­son­dere in der Rechts­pflege zu för­dern,
  • Kon­takte zu fach­ver­wand­ten Orga­ni­sa­tio­nen (u.a. der Gesell­schaft für Infor­ma­tik e.V.) zu för­dern.

Der Ver­ein erfüllt diese Zwe­cke in ers­ter Linie durch die Ver­an­stal­tung des Deut­schen EDV-Gerichtstages, der regel­mä­ßig ein Mal im Jahr in Saar­brü­cken statt­fin­det.

Seit schon gerau­mer Zeit ist bei der all­jähr­li­chen Tagung die „magi­sche“ Grenze von 500 Anmel­dun­gen über­schrit­ten. Und die Teil­neh­mer­zah­len stei­gen von Jahr zu Jahr in die Höhe. Auch die Begleit­aus­stel­lun­gen der Fir­men wer­den immer viel­fäl­ti­ger und inter­es­san­ter. Sie ermög­li­chen zeit­öko­no­misch an einem Ort den Über­blick über die für EDV-interessierte Juris­tin­nen und Juris­ten wesent­li­chen Pro­dukte.

Das „come toge­ther“ bei der juris GmbH am ers­ten Abend und das gemein­same Essen am zwei­ten Abend sind mitt­ler­weile zu einer guten Tra­di­tion gewor­den.

Höhe­punkte der bis­he­ri­gen Tagun­gen waren sicher­lich die Vor­träge der Bun­des­jus­tiz­mi­nis­te­rin Herta Däubler-Gmelin zum Thema „Inter­net und elek­tro­ni­scher Rechts­ver­kehr“ beim EDV-Gerichtstag 2000 und der Bun­des­jus­tiz­mi­nis­te­rin Bri­gitte Zypries zum Thema „Der elek­tro­ni­sche Rechts­ver­kehr gewinnt immer mehr an Bedeu­tung“ beim EDV-Gerichtstag 2004. Dies signa­li­siert, dass der EDV-Gerichtstag nach einem gar nicht so lan­gen Weg im Kreise der ande­ren Gerichts­tage ange­kom­men ist – so wie er das von Anfang an auf Grund sei­nes Namens ange­strebt hatte.

Saar­brü­cken, Sep­tem­ber 2014

Sie errei­chen den EDV-Gerichtstag unter fol­gen­der Adresse:
Deut­scher EDV-Gerichtstag e.V.
Prof. Dr. Ste­phan Ory
Uni­ver­si­tät des Saar­lan­des, Gebäude C 3.1
D-66123 Saar­brü­cken
Tele­fon: +49 (0)681 302‑5511
Tele­fax: +49 (0)681 302‑2591
E-mail: edvgt@jura.uni-sb.de

Post­adresse:
Deut­scher EDV-Gerichtstag e.V.
Prof. Dr. Ste­phan Ory
Uni­ver­si­tät des Saar­lan­des
Post­fach 15 11 50
66041 Saar­brü­cken

Über uns (leichte Spra­che)

Seite Drucken